skip to Main Content

The University of Fribourg encompasses five faculties where people study, teach and research. These are Arts and Humanities, Science and Medicine, Management, Economics and Social Sciences, Law and Theology. As well as these there are numerous interdisciplinary institutes and centres of excellence. The approximately 10,000 students in the Bachelor, Masters and PhD programs receive first-class personal support from over 800 professors, lecturers and research assistants.

As the only bilingual university in Switzerland, the University of Fribourg offers a wide range of courses of study in French, German or both. There are also a number of courses with an international aspect which are offered in English. Languages are not only studied here, but they form part of everyday life in the University community.

The University of Fribourg also enjoys an excellent international reputation in research. Besides numerous research projects funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation, the University hosts the National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) ‘Bioinspired (soft) Materials’ as well as a variety of Interdisciplinary Centres of Research. The members of the University community come from 110 countries and make Fribourg with its 40,000 inhabitants a university town “par excellence”.

Distances are short, so that the whole of Fribourg becomes, as it were, one campus. The combination of its medieval heritage and its animated student life imparts an incomparable charm to this city of the Dukes of Zähringen.

The group Soft Matter & Photonics of prof. Frank Scheffold, part of the Department of Physics, is associated with SuperCol.

Personal bio

Group webpage

Institute web page

Back To Top